Albuquerque Jazz Orchestra.
For booking information: Contact AJO
"Like" AJO on Facebook!

Photo by Jim Gale. Great night at the Cooperage. Looking forward to more!
Photo by Jim Gale.

Founded in 1982 by Pancho Romero, the 19-member Albuquerque Jazz Orchestra (AJO) has been delighting audiences throughout the Southwest for more than thirty years. For many years under the leadership of trombonist John Sanks, the band has had the opportunity to perform for an impressive list of guest artists, including Pete Christlieb, Jim Pugh, Scott Wendholt, John Fedchock, Wayne Bergeron, Butch Miles and jazz trumpet legend and Albuquerque native Bobby Shew, who served as the Musical Director of AJO from 2007 to 2010. Recently the AJO was honored to be a part of the 2010 New Mexico Jazz Festival, performing the music of Toshiko Akyioshi with Ms. Akyioshi conducting and Lew Tabackin as featured soloist.

The personnel in the AJO features professional and semi-professional musicians, and public school and university educators: Glenn Kostur, Aaron Lovato, Lee Taylor, Diantha Swoboda, Paul Blakey, woodwinds; Derek Warren, Brad Dubbs, Henry Estrada, Kent Erickson, Bruce Dalby, trumpets; John Sanks, Ben Finberg, Chris Buckholz, Larry Wheeler, Bill Austell, trombones; Jim Ahrend, piano; Michael Anthony, guitar; Colin Deuble, bass; and Andy Poling, drums.